Travis McCabe

Race Highlights

2019 National Criterium Champion
2018 Winner Colorado Classic Stage 4
2018 Winner Tour of Utah Stages 1 & 3
2017 National Criterium Champion

Travis discovered his love for cycling while working at a local bike shop when he was in high school.

After attending Junior College (on a running scholarship), Travis took a leap of faith and loaded his truck with all his worldly possessions and moved to Tuscon and pursue his dream of becoming a professional cyclist.

Travis made it to the upper echelons of the sport racing with SmartStop (sponsored by First Endurance) , Holowesko-Citadel (sponsored by First Endurance), UnitedHealthcare, Floyd’s Pro Cycling and Israel Start-Up Nation before turning his focus towards gravel racing.

Q: What’s your favorite movie and why?
A: Hitch. Idk why but I freaking love it. I’ve watched it at least 10 times!

Q: What’s the most embarrassing music you listen to?
A: LOL, oh man I listen to a lot of music and I’m not embarrassed by it at all! Mostly 1990s-2000s pop.  Some of my favorite female artists are Avril Lavinge, Taylor Swift, NSYNC, Back Street Boys, Brittany (of course) and I REALLY LOVE SHANIA TWAIN!

I was first introduced to First Endurance back in 2014. I was buying it even when I wasn’t sponsored by them because it’s the best.

I’m excited to partner with First Endurance again because they really care about their customer’s performance.

 

MY NUTRITION PLAN


Coming Soon

Q&A


Q: What has First Endurance helped you accomplish or overcome?

A: I started taking Optygen and MultiV back in 2015, when First Endurance sponsored the SmartStop team. I notice the biggest benefits when my training load is super-high.  It helps minimize fatigue and lets me push hard on the pedals day in and day out.   I continued to buy Optygen and MultiV after I moved on to teams that weren’t sponsored by First Endurance.

 

Q: What’s your favorite First Endurance product (flavor and why)?

A: Optygen and EFS-PRO are my two favorites now. They allow me to train at a very high level, which in turn allows me to race at a high level.  I’ve always lived in extremely high temperature environments (Tucson & Orlando)  and I’ve noticed I can continue to push myself after that 50-hour/week barrier. I’m able to stay mentally focused and physically sharp, and I think a lot of that has to do with the new EFS-PRO formula and Optygen.

 

Q: What’s your favorite race (location and why)?

A: Man, I have a ton of favorites, but my absolute favorite race would be the Philly Cycling Classic.  It was such an incredible race. The atmosphere on the Manayunk Wall was electrifying and the memories I have from the race will always be some of my most cherished.

 

Q: What’s the last thing you Googled?

A: “How to build and install Shimano Di2.” LOL I know, embarrassing, but after 10 years of not having to build bikes, and with technology advancing like it has, I forgot how to build a bike! So I had to watch a ton of youtube videos and spend countless hours relearning. But I loved it!

 

Q: What’s your favorite place in the world (and why)?

A: Either New Zealand, Colombia, or the South West. Each region is incredibly beautiful and I love the culture and people I’ve met in NZ and Colombia. The South West will always hold a special place in my heart as well.  I’m really fortunate to have grown up appreciating the outdoors.

 

Q: What was the first concert you ever went to?

A: It was out in Bakersfield, CA and I saw Blink-182, KISS, Eminem, and Rise Against! It was awesome!!

 

Q: What sport are you the worst at?

A: Basketball. Definitely Basketball. I love to watch and sometime play but I’m so unbelievably uncoordinated its comical.

 

Q: What’s your favorite book and why?

A: Edward Abbey’s Desert Solitude and The Monkey Wrench Game. They romanticize the southwest and the beauty of the desert, while reminding the reader the importance of preservation and the footprint mankind leaves on this world. I also love Dune, The Name of the Wind, and Into the Wild.

 

Q: How did you get started in the sport?

A:  I used to run and ride bmx back in high school and my senior year I started working at the local bike shop ‘High Gear Bikes.’ The owners where huge cycling fans and we would always watch the old classics like a Sunday in Hell and old TDF races while we worked. I fell in love with the idea of cycling then and there. Spent all the money I made on an old Madone and began training.

 

Q: What do you love most about the sport?

A: I love the freedom that cycling offers. You can step out your front door and go anywhere you want for as long as you want and I absolutely love that.

 

Q: What’s your favorite animal and why?

A: Red Tail Hawk, they’re apex predators, smart, have incredible vision.  They are just magnificent creatures. I always keep my eyes out for hawks when I ride and often see them as good omens.

 

 

Q: What’s been the highlight of your race career?

A: Winning the US national Criterium in 2019 and placing 2nd at Road Nationals back in 2015. Those two days were and always will be very special to me.

 

Q: If you had to be shipwrecked on a deserted island, but all your human needs—such as food and water—were taken care of, what two items would you want to have with you?

A: I’d probably bring along a chess board and some sort of tool like a saw or hatchet to build a shelter. That’s a tough one.

 

Q: If you had a choice between two superpowers, being invisible or flying, which would you choose and why?

A: Oh, flying for sure. I feel like being invisible is kinda creepy, whereas flying allows you to go anywhere. It’s also been a reoccurring dream of mine which I love to have.

 

Q: What’s the first thing you’d do if you won $50 million in the lottery?

A: Honestly, I’d probably buy a house in Hawaii or New Zealand somewhere and settle down there. Then I’d give a lot of the money away to friends and family and also donate it. I’m pretty happy with my life and the way things have turned out, and I’d want others to be happy too. As long as I have my health, people who love me, and freedom, then there’s not much else I need.

 

Q: Who’s your favorite person and why?

A: My dad. He’s my hero. He taught me the importance of hard work, sacrifice, and the virtues needed in life to succeed and be happy.  Because of him and my mom, I’ve been able to follow my dreams. I’m very grateful to have them as parents.

 

Q: What’s your favorite web site?

A: Ha! Probably cyclingnews.com I’m literally on there every day.

 

A: When you were little, what do you want to be when you grew up?

B: I wanted to be either a Navy Seal or an Olympic Athlete. And I came close to becoming one of them.

 

Q: Have you ever been fired?

A: Nope!

 

Q: Describe your first bike.

A: My very first bike was a Trek freestyle bike with the screw on pegs. I freaking loved that bike and rode it all over town.

 

Q: What do you want to do after your racing career?

A: I want to stay involved in cycling in some capacity. What I’d really like to do is work in marketing for a bicycle company and help get more people on bikes. I’d also like to start coaching young athletes and be involved with NICA. I think sports play an enormous role in development and I want to be a mentor for the next generation of cyclists.

 

Q: What’s the craziest thing that’s ever happened to you?

A: Oh man, I don’t know. Getting hit by a scooter while racing in the Dominican Republic was pretty wild. Also knocking out my two front teeth in Belgium was crazy.