Ruth Winder


“I have a 80lb Labradoodle called Wallace. He's the best."


After a career in the Womens World Tour I am transitioning into a full time gravel racer. I’ve raced track, road and mountain bikes my whole life so adding in more more discipline doesn’t feel foreign.

I live in Nederland Colorado with my husband and 80lb dog where we love all things outdoors, skiing in the winter and cycling of all sorts in the summer.


US Pro Road Race

1st Overall: 2019

US Olympic Team

2x Member: 2016 & 2020

Giro Rosa

Stage Winner: 2021 TTT

Ruth's Top Picks


Goal(s) for 2023:

I would like to put together a strong season with goals to win or podium in a few

What’s your favorite quote and where did you first hear it?

“Just because we can doesn’t mean we should” I heard it on a podcast once and I just think a lot of people feel they need to push themselves more than is needed.

How did you get started in your sport?

My parents both rode bikes and so I started by going out with them :)

If you had to be shipwrecked on a deserted island, but all your human needs—such as food and water—were taken care of, what two items would you want to have with you?

My husband. I hate being lonely, I’d like to think he also wouldn’t hate the idea of being there with me. A lovely bottle of Whiskey so we really could have a nice time.

If you could have one superpower, which would you choose and why?

Unwavering confidence. I think it’s hard to do and would just help me so much if I could just be me without question.

What’s your favorite website?

Lentine Alexis recipes!

When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?

A jockey!

What's the craziest thing that’s ever happened to you?  

Maybe my entire life of being a cyclist and traveling the world for it! Ha

What's your favorite movie and why?

Gladiator! I love the love story behind it and also Russell Crowe..

Guilty pleasure song? 

Anything Justin Bieber.

Where is your “happy” place? 

Home. Everytime.

What is your most memorable meal? 

After I won Tour Down under in 2019 I took myself out to a restaurant called Osteria Oggi in Adelaide, I was alone but I ordered the full course menu and was so, so full after but it was the most yummy food.

What is something that you learned from a parent or grandparent that has guided you in life? 

Just keep trying!

Tell us about your pets.

I have a 80lb Labradoodle called Wallace. He's the best.

Who is your favorite band or artist and what is their best album and song?

Ugh this is always changing for me but you can't ever go wrong with Adele.  

When I’m not riding/running or otherwise crushing it in my sport, you’ll find me:

Skiing! Or just quite frankly sitting on the couch watching something on Netflix, after I put some baked good in the oven obviously.